Revised Executive Order on Immigration

Earlier this week, the president signed a new executive order to replace the original “travel ban” from January 27.  This revised executive order imposes a 90-day ban on the issuance of new visas for citizens from Iran, Syria, Yemen, Libya, Somalia, and Sudan effective March 16.

The new executive order clarifies the following issues related to the previous executive order:

  • Lawful permanent residents (U.S. green card holders), dual nationals who use a passport from another country, and those who have been granted asylum or refugee status are not subject to the travel ban.
  • Iraq was removed from the list of affected countries.
  • The new executive order does not revoke existing visas. Individuals from the six countries who currently hold a valid visa are allowed to travel; however, OIS advises against non-urgent travel until it is clear how the new executive order will be implemented.
  • The refugee program has been suspended for 120 days for refugees from all countries.

Further details on the revised executive order are available in the Department of Homeland Security Q & A Fact Sheet.

As with the original executive order, legal challenges are expected, so it is not possible to predict how long these restrictions will remain in place.

OIS continues to stand in support of all members of our international community, especially those impacted by this executive order. The USC Provost website provides information about university resources for those affected:

OIS advisors are available to individually speak with students and scholars who have questions related to the executive order. Please call 213.740.2666 to make an appointment.