Travel to the US Restricted for Foreign Nationals Physically Present in the Following Countries:

Several Presidential proclamations established restrictions on the entry of certain travelers into the United States in an effort to help slow the spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). With specific exceptions, foreign nationals who have been in any of the following countries during the past 14 days may not enter the United States: the People’s Republic of China, Iran, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the Republic of Ireland and Brazil.

Effective July 16, 2020, F-1 student travelers from the Schengen Area, the UK, and Ireland who are applying for or have valid visas may now travel to the U.S. even though the current Presidential Proclamations regarding travel remain in effect. F-1 Students traveling with valid F-1 visas, do not need to seek a national interest exception to travel to the U.S. Students traveling from these countries may experience delays at inspection from Customs and Border Patrol (CBP) upon entering the U.S.

Students from those areas who are traveling on a J-1 visa may contact the nearest embassy or consulate to initiate an exception request.

All travelers from international destinations are required by the L.A. County Department of Public Health to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival in the United States before arriving on campus or residing in campus housing.

Please review the Project Restart: Trojans Return Checklist before making plans to return to campus.

New students should review the memo provided by the Dean of Admissions regarding coming to the US from abroad for the fall semester.

These travel restrictions will remain in effect until terminated by the President. Up-to-date information about these travel restrictions can be found on the US Department of State and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention websites.